top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKunal Gupta

Spring/Summer 2021

Sophomore Advisor

This spring semester, my role as a peer mentor to University Honors freshmen came to a close. The opportunity to serve as a sophomore advisor has been one of the most unique and valuable experiences of college so far. I made lifelong friendships with other SAs, learned what it means to be a mentor, and practiced leadership skills that will stay with me throughout my career, all while doing one of the things I enjoy most: helping others. The experience has made me a more well-rounded individual, and I will definitely cherish the memories I made serving in the role.

 

ENDEAVR

My work as a software engineer with the ENDEAVR Institute continues. During the Spring semester, we launched the ENDEAVR Telemedicine Booth in Nolanville City Hall, which was exciting because all the software that makes it work as intended was designed and developed by me. Since its launch, approximately a dozen telemedicine appointments have taken place inside the booth. It is amazing to think that people actually use the stuff I work on to fulfill their needs, such as visiting a doctor virtually. Over the summer, my work slowed down because I had to focus on my summer internship with Office Depot, but I look forward to getting back into the routine soon.

 

Office Depot

This summer, I had the amazing opportunity to intern as a software developer at Office Depot. I can unquestionably say that I learned more useful technologies and about my career field (computer science) during the 11-week internship than I have throughout all of college. I am so grateful for the opportunity to learn hands-on software development by working alongside professionals in my field, using industry-grade tools to test, deploy, and run the code I write. I finally got to see what real-world software development looks like in industry, and I was able to actually contribute something that would be used by my colleagues. This internship has strongly reinforced my career choice. At the end of the internship, I accepted an offer for part-time employment with the company to continue my work during the school year, and I can't wait to keep gaining valuable experience.

 

Extracurriculars

This fall semester, I will be serving in several leadership roles on campus. I hope to improve the honors experience at TAMU in my role as the Vice President of (Social) Programming for the TAMU Honors Student Council. I look forward to gaining experience with web development in my position as the Webmaster for the TAMU Percussion Studio. Finally, I will be continuing in my role as an Engineering Honors Ambassador, assisting with prospective student outreach and new student orientation for the TAMU Engineering Honors Program.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fall 2021 - Summer 2022

Varis During the 2021-2022 academic year, I worked part-time as a Software Development Engineer 1 at Varis, which was a continuation of my internship at Office Depot the summer prior (Varis split from

Fall 2020

ENDEAVRide Over the summer, I joined the ENDEAVRide project to help turn Nolanville, TX into the first small smart city. My own role involved creating the scripts that allowed users of a mobile app to

bottom of page